My Brush with GCHQ

Alright, I didn’t know the code was from GCHQ and I only saw it on the last night of the “game” (30.11.11), so I suspect I would have needed a lot longer than a couple of hours to crack (try infinitly long). I did however make a start. Here’s the screen save I made:

Oh damn – it won’t upload – security block ! Cunning.

So here are the first block (left-hand side) of hexadecimal numbers presented on the screen:

eb
4
af
c2
bf
a3
81
ec
0c
fe
c1
75
f9
31
c0
ba
d0
c1
ca
8
8a
1c
0c
8a
fe
c1
75
e8
e9
5c
0
0
0
5c
58
3d
41
41
41
41
75
3b
5a
89
d1
89
e6
89
d1
89
df
29
cf
31
c0
31
8a
14
6
8a
34
1e
88
34
8a
1c
16
8a
17
30
da
88
d8
fe
c0
cd
80
90
90
e8

First thing I did was convert this first Hexadecimal into 8-bit Binary, to see if a visual pattern developed, which would lead to the next clue:

No ? Nothing ?

I thought I saw a “naked lady with socks on” (as usual) but my psychotherapist said try something else …

… Murray-Baudot is 5-bit and there are 10 rows, so maybe if I look down the rows ….

I’ll update when I’ve finished. I bet Turing would have done this in a trice.

PS. Great idea GCHQ. Another one please.

Update 05.12.11 , here are the full matrices copied by hand. I’ve done some ANDing and ORing but still nothing … what about just mapping to ASCII codes ? (0 to 255 or, 00 to FF)

About Dr_JAH

Independent Researcher
This entry was posted in Fun, Maths and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Brush with GCHQ

  1. Peter Hurn says:

    Good attempt John and a very interesting blog.

    • Dr_JAH says:

      Thanks Peter. It was bit of a random attempt at decoding. Did you have any more luck ?
      I’ve been a bit lax on the blog of late – had more paid projects to do at the University – but hope to write some stuff soon.
      Hope things are going well,
      John

Leave a Reply

